#ReadADessen: This Lullaby

ReadADessen_BlogTourImg_17_1p

I am so excited to be participating #ReadADessen campaign!! I’m a relatively new Sarah Dessen fan as of this year! I’ve always known Sarah’s been queen of contemporary, but I hadn’t been an avid contemporary romance reader until last year; starting with Jenny Han, Emery Lord, Morgan Matson, and Kasie West.

My curiosity about Sarah’s writing began with receiving the gorgeous ARC for Once and for All plus swag goodies at the book store I work at, Blue Bunny Books.  The plan was to take it home and give it to my friend and co-worker Kim, but I decided I’d give it a quick read. Well you could say I instantly fell in love with Sarah’s book!  I was then told I was “doing it all wrong” and I had to start from the beginning. Anyway long story short, reading Once and For All led me to requesting to participate in this campaign! I was ecstatic to receive This Lullaby, which I’ve been repeatedly told by several people is one of the best Dessen novels. I absolutely adored this novel!! Anyway you can always message me if you want to gush about this book!

9780142501559

About the Book

When it comes to relationships, Remy doesn’t mess around. After all, she’s learned all there is to know from her mother, who’s currently working on husband number five. But there’s something about Dexter that seems to defy all of Remy’s rules. He certainly doesn’t seem like Mr. Right. For some reason, however, Remy just can’t seem to shake him. Could it be that Remy’s starting to understand what those love songs are all about?

 

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Indiebound


For this post, I am doing a playlist of sorts.  I really REALLY didn’t want to seem unoriginal with this idea, but there’s been a few songs I’ve come across on Google Play Music radio that reminded me of this book.  I’m going to do my best to choose a couple songs to match each character, however I am limiting myself to 5 characters so I don’t go too crazy.

WARNING SPOILERS AHEAD!!

(I give reasons why I chose these songs)

Dexter

Goodness I love this boy so much! It’s weird to say that he reminds me of Ambrose in Once and For All, because no one know who I am talking about!! Ha! So sorry! This is what I get for reading book 13 and going backwards. I don’t want to say too much.

The first song I choose for Dexter is “Say You’ll Love Me” by Jessie Ware. Jessie’s voice is just captivating. She reminds me so much of Adele, Lana Del Rey, and Lorde. I picked this song because it represents how he must have felt right when Remy breaks his heart.

If Keith Urban’s The Fighter existed when This Lullaby was written, this should’ve been the song Dexter should have sung on Remy to convince her to trust in their relationship.

Last song I’m choosing for Dexter is Ed Sheeran’s Photograph, which I think is pretty self explanatory

Lissa

I imagine that Lissa thought about her relationship with Adam would end up as a the the perfect married couple. The high school sweethearts like in Dan + Shay’s From the Ground Up

The song Fly by Maddie & Tae is the perfect song to help encourage a heartbroken Lissa, who needs to move on and start over in college.

Chloe

Poor Chloe got so much crap from the other girls about her B-cups that I had to give her The Black Eyed Peas My Humps for her “anthem”.

I think Taylor Swift’s I Knew You Were Trouble sums up Chloe’s relationship with cheating college guys, but Ingrid Michaelson’s Girls Chase Boys also describes how she is now as she’s the only one who’s actively seeking a boyfriend.

Remy

Oh my goodness it took me so long to find the perfect song that encapsulates Remy as a person. She had always been wary of love and relationships, so she never allowed them to last for a long time, until Dexter.  Paramore’s The Only Exception fits her to a T.

Feist’s Bittersweet Melodies fits the moments when Remy can’t stop thinking about Dexter. But it could also fit for Dexter when he tries to be friends with Remy.

I love the acoustic version of I Choose You by Sara Barielles! It’s PERFECT for the end of the book!!

Jess

Jess was the hardest character to think of songs that fit her personality.  She’s the most responsible of all four girls plus she had to grow up faster to take care of her brothers. So finally I remembered I’m Not A Girl, Not Yet A Woman by Britney Spears.

Bonus songs for Remy + Chloe + Jess + Lissa:

Birdy’s Wings

The Ataris In This Diary


About Sarahsarahdessenjpg

Sarah Dessen is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of over a dozen novels for teens, which have received numerous awards and rave reviews. Her books have been published in over thirty countries and have sold millions of copies worldwide. She is the recipient of the 2017 Margaret A. Edwards Award from the American Library Association for outstanding contribution to young adult literature for her novels: Keeping the Moon, Dreamland, This Lullaby, The Truth about Forever, Just Listen, Along for the Ride, and What Happened to Goodbye. Her newest novel, Once and for All, will be released in June 2017. An NC native, she currently lives in Chapel Hill with her family.

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook


9780425290330

Once and For All

As bubbly as champagne and delectable as wedding cake, Once and for All, Sarah Dessen’s thirteenth novel, is set in the world of wedding planning, where crises are routine.

Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that’s why she’s cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm’s length. But Ambrose isn’t about to be discouraged, now that he’s met the one girl he really wants.

Sarah Dessen’s many, many fans will adore her latest, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story that has everything—humor, romance, and an ending both happy and imperfect, just like life itself

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Indiebound


Giveaway

Enter for a chance to win one (1) set of Sarah Dessen’s books in paperback (ARV: $132.00).
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on April 17, 2017 and 12:00 AM on May 29, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about June 1, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

Sarah Dessen Giveaway!


Thank you so much to Chelsea Fought and Penguin Random House for letting me participate in #ReadADessen this year and sending me This Lullaby!

If you have read This Lullaby and have any suggestions for songs for characters I’ve mentioned or any other characters, let me know in the comments below!

Be sure to check out the other blogs posting this week!

THIS LULLABY
THE TRUTH ABOUT FOREVER

MelissaSig

Save

3 thoughts on “#ReadADessen: This Lullaby

  1. Pingback: #ReadADessen: Lock & Key + Giveaway | Live, Love, Read

Leave a Reply

