The Thanks U Give

img_20161116_214228

When I first heard about Mishma @ Chasing Faerytales & Hazel @ Stay Bookish idea for The Thanks U Give project, I thought it was a wonderful idea and I knew I had to participate. I had been thinking about writing a Thanksgiving post about what I was thankful for all month, but this gave me the extra boost to actually commit to writing one.

So my first order of thanks is to both Mishma and Hazel for putting together this project!

I’ll be honest and say making friends can be difficult sometimes. I’m sure everyone has gone through their ups and downs with friendships; losing old ones and gaining new ones and I’m no different. I am truly grateful to the ones I’ve made in the recent years and I don’t think I share my appreciation of their friendships enough. So here I go…. I will not get super emotional…. I will not cry.

What can I say about Molly?? Everyone’s dog is named Molly… HA just kidding!! She is smart, sassy, honest, and isn’t afraid to speak her mind. She’s been a very good friend to me the past 2 years I’ve known her. Which is crazy to think about because it feels like we’ve been friends for way longer than that. If you haven’t met us in person, which most of you probably haven’t, we’re like two peas in a pod. Majority of the time you don’t see us without the other at events, and if you invite one of us to a thing expect the other one to be there also.  Sometimes I wonder where Molly’s been half my life (HA HA get it Momo?) She’s been a constant supporter and I don’t know what I’d do without her. She’s definitely a go to person for advice and she keeps me sane through my chaotic life. So Molly, Thank you for your amazing friendship the past couple years and I look forward to when we get super old and can still talk about books we love and snark about the ones we don’t like.

Mackenzi Lee was a friend first before I ever thought of her as a too cool for school author. Though in actuality, I won her first ARC of This Monstrous Thing via Twitter giveaway and that’s how our friendship blossomed! Discovering how close in proximity we lived, made it easy for us to see each other and hang out.  Mackenzi is also how I met Molly and thus was born the triple M hangouts. (I totally just made this up) I love the way Mackenzi is high-spirited, snarky, smart, funny, and ambitious. She’s spoiled me with her kindness and generosity by feeding Molly and I pie and other treats, making sure we’re entertained with coloring books and awesome conversations.  Mackenzi, I am so grateful for your friendship and support! Here’s to many more awesome bookish adventures and “babysitting” shenanigans!

Susan Dennard… I just have the hardest time putting into words how much I appreciate this amazing woman. We’ve come so far since January and I’m eternally grateful for that. She is the most humble, sincere, compassionate, generous, and loving person I know. The timing of our friendship was just perfect; it arrived during a time when we both needed it the most. I’m also surprised in how much we have in common. Everyday I think about how lucky I am to have someone like Susan who is so understanding, supportive, and a great motivator. I know I’m always telling you this, but I am SO grateful to call you a friend and to have you in my life. I know you’ll always be there for me when I need advice or someone to vent to. Thank you for everything you’ve done!! And know I’ll always be here for you in anyway I can.

MC may be quiet, but she is also crazy talented, caring, and just simply the best. I’m so glad I met her at ALA Mid Winter at the beginning of the year. Who knew that we’d become close friends who aren’t too old to have slumber parties? Thank you for being there for me even though you’re just a few states away. I can’t wait until you come visit next!

Ellie is a wonderfully hysterical and lively human being and I appreciate our ever growing friendship.  I am so glad we got to know each other more this year and I look forward to more fun times together.

The Quartet: Kelly, Lauren and Nori. I don’t even know where to begin. I am so glad that I’ve become such great friends with these ladies. Though our lives have been crazy all year, I know I can still count on them to be around when I need them.

Kelly T, I love this girl so much! Seriously she’s just the sweetest person ever and I wish she wasn’t on the opposite coast because I know we’d be inseparable if she lived near by. I love that we got to know each other more this year and it’s all thanks to the Witchlander Street Team. I hope you know Kelly how thankful I am to have you in my life and I’ll always be there when you need it.

Jen & Karina you both have been SO SO SO wonderful! I’m grateful that the street team brought us together and that you both tolerate me. HAHA! Getting to know you guys the past two years have been loads of fun. I hope one day I can fly out to Illinois and meet you both and hug the stuffing out of you!

Erin Bowman thank you for letting me come to you for advice and gush over baby B! I totally got spoiled by all your events in Boston this year. I’m so glad I got to know you more and I look forward to what awaits us in the upcoming years.

Also I have to thank all the wonderful authors who have added to my book hoarding problems and giving me amazing characters who I love, hate, cry over, and wish were real. Especially a giant thank you all the authors who have participated in our Musings for Eternal Dreamers feature! There’s like 50+ which is too many to list.

I must also give thanks to all of our followers and readers! Without you our blog wouldn’t have survived for the past 2 years.

 

 

Well I hope everyone who celebrates had a wonderful Thanksgiving! I certainly over ate and had a great time with family.  Thanks for taking the time to read my long post and I hope you check out the other blogs who participated in #TheThanksUGive!!

MelissaSig

Leave a Reply

