#ReadThemAllThon TBR Pile

All #ReadThemAllThon images created by Read at Midnight

 

Okay August is going to suck reading wise because I have 2 challenges and so many books and so little time. However, did you really expect me to pass on this Pokemon challenge?! With this second challenge, my ARC August TBR list will change.

The Pokemon Indigo League #ReadThemAllThon is hosted by Aentee @ Read at Midnight. It’s a 3 week long challenge running from Sunday 14th August to Sunday 4th September.  There are 8 reading challenges each based on the 8 gyms that are in the Indigo League. You earn a badge every time you complete a book! You can still sign up here.


Chosen Pokemon

Trainer Card.png

It wouldn’t be a Kanto Region Pokemon challenge if I didn’t choose Charmander! However it’s not just any Charmander, it’s a shiny Charmander. If you’ve never played the video games and read up on the secret hacks, then you would’t know that each Pokemon has an alternate color pattern which is considered to be shiny. Also when released from their Pokeballs they twinkle. Anywhoo! The final evolution, shiny Charizard is pretty bad ass, which is why I chose it. Also, yes I designed my trainer card to look almost exactly like the ones you’d find in the video game.


The Books

My first mistake was assuming And I Darken by Kiersten White was just another typical fantasy book.  I didn’t really look into it so it wasn’t even on my TBR pile. However after talking with Molly @ Cherry Blossoms & Maple Syrup and Mackenzi Lee, both of whom enjoyed it, I decided to give it a shot.

 475 pages (+47CP)


I’ve been adding this book to my TBR pile for like a year and I still haven’t read it! I know I had it for #MakeMeRead, but it wasn’t near the top of the pile, so once again it got shelved. I owned the ARC then the HC.  I keep hearing so many great things about I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I think it’s finally time to sit myself down and read it!

371 pages (+37 CP)


Okay technically the thunderous hype this year is all about Gemina, the sequel, but last year it was all about Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.  I have the HC ARC from BEA ’15.  Even though its massive, I heard it was a quick read.

 599 pages (+59 CP)


I was lucky enough to win an ARC of Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown through a Twitter giveaway.  Most books with LGBTQ characters I’ve read have easily been ones I’ve enjoyed immensely. I definitely have a better understanding and appreciate the authors more who may be writing from their personal experiences.

432 pages (+43CP)

Okay so I may be cheating here a tiny bit. I read 164 pages of Heartless by Marissa Meyer for the #MakeMeRead It challenge. But in my defense I stopped. Not because I wanted to DNF the book, but I was having a hard time enjoying the book.  It wasn’t the writing, but more the fact its another Alice in Wonderland retelling. Alice isn’t even in it! However it’s in the same realm and I couldn’t get excited for this book.  However, I am determined to finish this book because of the romance that develops and I keep hearing about this great ending it has. Wish me luck!

464  pages (+46CP)

Okay I’ve read the first two books in The Mortal Instrument series and the momentum kind of just died after I moved on to read other books. I was trying not to binge the entire series. Whoops! I’m going to try again starting with The Infernal Devices because so many people have told me they prefer this trilogy and I’m always hearing about Will and Jem more then Jace and Simon. So now ya’ll got me curious so Clockwork Angel‘s going on my list.

479 pages (+47CP)


Most of the books I own with a red cover I’ve already read.  Other than Heartless, not too many ARCs I own have a red cover.  So I’ll be starting another new series and this time it’s His Fair Assassin trilogy by Robin LaFevers.  I was lucky enough to get the entire series from a friend, so there’s no need to worry about waiting to buy the next book after Grave Mercy!

550 pages (+55CP)


I noticed I don’t have many post apocalyptic books. Why? Because I am wicked picky about dystopians! I will tell you I won’t be reading Allegiant (I gave it away) also I have no desire to complete The Hunger Games trilogy. Sorry guys, but they just weren’t for me.  The only series I did complete was The Darkest Mind series.  However last year for my birthday my bestie Nori @ ReadWriteLove28 got me a copy of The 5th Wave. I am seriously hoping I enjoy this one other wise I’ll feel terrible. Which is how I feel about not reading Allegiant because it was gifted to me.

457 pages (+45CP)


Total Potential Points: If I finish all 8 books, including completed books bonus = +539CP

Holy crow that’s a lot of points! My shiny Charmander would be so close to becoming a shiny Charizard! I hope I do complete this challenge plus write reviews, etc. to earn the most CP. I’ll be posting about my progress on Twitter using #ReadThemAllThon!

Hope some of our followers are participating! If you are or plan to, leave your link down below!

 

MelissaSig

2 thoughts on “#ReadThemAllThon TBR Pile

Leave a Reply

