Kelly’s 2015 End of Year Book Survey

Better late than never, but here’s my End of the Year Survey!  Thank you Jamie @ Perpetual Page Turner, the creator of this survey.

2015 Reading Stats

Number Of Books You Read: 42 – Not including manuscripts!
Number of Re-Reads: Only 1! – Throne of Glass!
Genre You Read The Most From: YA Fantasy, of course. =)

Best in books

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. This book legitimately sparked my interest in reading and writing again. I can’t say thank you enough for getting me back into reading!

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Firewalker by Josephine Angelini. I was so stoked for this sequel because I ADORE Trial by Fire, but this sequel just wasn’t as good as the first one…

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi! As a fantasy reader, I was so surprised that I love this book as much as I did. I flailed all the flails and consistently recommend it to everyone!

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Probably Throne of Glass, as I believe most people now associate me with this series and Rowan. Ha!

5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?

Series I started would have to be An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. I honestly can’t wait to get my hands on her sequel. I’m so excited! I’m going to cheat though, and also give a shout out to The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows! Have all of you read this book? I need more Black Knife in my life…

Best sequel that’s come out in 2015 is obvious Queen of Shadows because, let’s face it, is there anything even in the running for this position otherwise?

Since I don’t believe I read any series endings that came out in 2015, I’m just going to give you a series that I loved reading this year: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. If you haven’t read this book yet, you seriously need to pick it up IMMEDIATELY! KAY, THANKS, BYE!

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

I started reading again in 2015, so I discovered A LOT of authors, but one of my favorites would have to be Alex Bracken, who, with her The Darkest Minds series, has caught and held my number one favorite Dystopian spot! I push this book on a lot of people too!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

This year I tried out Steampunk and LOVED IT! So I’m going with Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson. It’s so good! I’m currently anxiously awaiting the sequel and keeping my eye on Shanna as a next big author! She’s a pretty amazing writer. =)

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Oh my goodness, Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier! Though I wouldn’t say it’s the most action packed, it was definitely a fantastical adventure and kept me turning the pages minute after minute. I stayed up until morning for two nights in a row to finish this book. The only time I put it down was when I was sobbing hysterically during one of the scenes and just had to cry it out for a half hour.

9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Probably The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows so that I can refresh my memory in time for The Mirror King! =)

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor. Out of her trilogy, that cover is just so GORGEOUS! I could stare at it for days…

11. Most memorable character of 2015?

Celaena Sardothien of course. Who else?! I carry her with me everywhere I go. I think I should actually coin the phrase, “What would Celaena do?” WWCD… sounds good!

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

Beautiful writing award always goes to Laini Taylor. Reading her books is like being embraced by this beautifully written prose that just lovingly opens your heart and calls to your soul.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas. This book was the book that started this entire snowball of a new life in blogging, the book world, and my apprenticeship. I owe all of this change and new found love of my life to Sarah and her writing.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read?

Ha! Something Strange and Deadly series by Susan Dennard. I can’t believe I’ve waited so long to read this series. Zombies and fantasy? Seriously… how could this go wrong?!

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?

This one’s easy!

“You could rattle the stars,” she whispered. “You could do anything, if only you dared. And deep down, you know it, too. That’s what scares you most.” – Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?

Shortest: Sweet Madness by Trisha Leaver and Lindsay Currie!

Longest: Queen of Shadows at 648 pages!

How I did this: Went to my read books on Goodreads and sorted by page number and just looked for what I knew I read this year that was the shortest and longest.

17. Book That Shocked You The Most

(Because of a plot twist, character death, left you hanging with your mouth wide open, etc.)

THE ORPHAN QUEEN! JODI!!!! GAHHHH!!!!!

That’s legitimately all I can say without giving away any spoilers…

GRAHHHHHUOIDSLKAHFJKSDAKFDAF

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

(OTP = one true pairing if you aren’t familiar)

ROWAELIN ALL THE WAY!!! I went down with this ship before QOS came out and I’m still going down with this ship!

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Definitely the relationship between Elise, Celeste, Kriss, and America in The One by Keira Cass. There was so much character development in this series, that by the end, their friendship was just so wonderful! I’ve never been the type of girl to really have many girlfriends, so a friendship like this is something that I dream about…

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

I actually have to say that this can’t apply to me. I really started getting into reading again in January of 2015, so every single one of the authors that I read this year were NEW TO ME authors! The only repetition I did was reading series books, or reading Queen of Shadows when that came out, after I already read the beginning of the series earlier in the year.

21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers! Though this book was slightly political, I adored it! And I had so many people pushing me to read it at the time (even though my buddy reading partner stopped reading it!), that I felt a little rushed. Once I got into the book though, oh my goodness, I was addicted! I read the rest of the book in a day.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

Rowan. Always Rowan. Is this even a question? I’ll tell you what’s a question: WHERE IS ROWAN AND WHY IS HE NOT HERE?!

23. Best 2015 debut you read?

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. That’s not even a question! I LOVE this book!!!

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

GAH, I can’t make up my mind on this one. Mother duck is saying she can’t choose. I’m giving you both the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas and the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor. Both of their writing is so vividly descriptive and beautiful. It’s like your in the story with the characters.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Probably either Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick, or The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie!

Hush, Hush was extremely focused on the romance, and they were just so darn happy together most of the time that it was just a really happy read for me! The problems were easily solved, and if they were separated, they soon got back together. It did my heart well.

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl was a fast paced read that really wasn’t all that terrifying. It also had a very relatable character who used words in a very simplistic way. Also, I really just love an awesome ghost story! I’m addicted to them, I swear!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?

I think I might have already said this, but I seriously ugly cried while reading Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier. There’s a scene, which I won’t give away, that just made me ball because it hurt so bad to witness. I can’t even begin to explain the amount of pain that radiated from her beautiful writing. I had to put the book down at 2am for a good half hour while I sobbed into my pillow and loudly blew my nose.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

THE SHORT LIFE OF SPARROWS BY EMM COLE! IF YOU HAVEN’T READ IT YET, YOU NEED TO READ IT IMMEDIATELY! GO GO GO GO GO!!! WHY ARE YOU NOT MOVING?!

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier, again. I really can’t explain it. You’re just going to have to read it and find out for yourself. This book… this book has all the feels… You need to read it.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?

The Something Strange and Deadly series by Susan Dennard! I’d never read a book with zombie in it before I read this series. It was so cool and so interesting to read though! I loved it!

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

It’s a tie between The Heir by Keira Cass and The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows, but it’s for two completely different reasons.

The Orphan Queen is just, JODI WHAT IN THE WORLD!?!?!?!? GRAHHHH WHYYYYYYY?!?!?!?!

While the The Heir was more so, “Eadlyn!! GET YOUR CRAP TOGETHER AND KNOCK THIS STUPID RIDICULOUSNESS OFF!”

My Blogging/ Bookish Life

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015?

Haha, I discovered every blog I follow in 2015, so I’m not sure this can really apply to me…

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?

My favorite review was definitely An Ember int he Ashes. I think I just had so much going on in my brain and had to get my love out for this book that it just came pouring out in this mix of professionalism and fangirl flailing.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

My first ever Recesses of Heart post. It felt so good to just get it all out. I was so terrified of really putting all of my emotions and troubles out there, but so many people loved it, that I decided to make it an actual feature on my blog. Now I treasure it. When I really need to get something off my chest, I come to my blog, and I just let it all go…

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

Definitely BookItCon in August in Moorestown, NJ! It was a slightly smaller author signing in this awesomely old building, but I got to spend time with some of my favorite bloggers (that I currently am missing dearly), and we even got to eat dinner and play trivia with the authors, too! My friends and I ended up eating and playing at the same table with Jenny Perinovic (A Magic Dark and Bright), Ami Allen-Vath Liars and Losers Like Us), Sarah Glenn Marsh (Fear the Drowning Deep), Jodi Meadows (The Orphan Queen), and Martina Boone (Compulsion). Legitimately the best time I’d had in a long time. My friends and I were secretly flailing and flipping out the entire time.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?

Coming up with our Musings of Eternal Dreamers feature was pretty amazing, and I’m so happy that it’s been going so well since August! We have an author guest post on our blog every Thursday to give tips and advice for new readers, and to tell their own stories of struggles. It’s really an amazing feature and if you haven’t seen it yet, you need to check it out!

This week, we have Tara Sim (Timekeeper, Fall 2016), and next week we have Shanna Swendson (Rebel Mechanics)! Two really amazing authors who have some great advice for you! On the 21st, we have Lauren Gibaldi as well! We honestly can’t wait to let you in a little bit to their world. =)

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

TIME. MANAGEMENT. Once I took on my internship and apprenticeship, being a consistent blogger basically just flew out the window. People don’t realize how truly HARD and TIME CONSUMING blogging really is! When you get popular and start getting books in, you’re trying to read like two or three books a week while posting something everyday. You can imagine how tiring that is after a while…

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

I believe the most popular post on my blog this year was still my ACOTAR giveaway that I held in April. I received a UK ARC of ACOTAR from Sarah herself, but felt so guilty that I just couldn’t read it, so I wanted it to find a home with someone who could appreciate it more than I could. So I ran a giveaway, and as soon as I posted it, that post legitimately sky rocketed, and I believe it still holds the record at about 800 views in one day… That’s SO MANY!

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

I really with the Musings of Eternal Dreamers posts got a little more love. These authors are taking time out of their day to give some great advice and help young and new writers. I know people are viewing the posts, but no one is interacting. COMMENT! ASK QUESTIONS! Many of these authors really want to help you and want to interact with you! Don’t be shy! If you’re having writing problems, ask them for help! Or even just comment and say how amazing they are. Anything really, I just want them to feel appreciated and loved, too.

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

THE STRAND! Oh my goodness, if you ever go up to NYC, you need to go to this bookstore, because lord knows, it will become your safe haven! I legitimately spent over an hour with Nori and Danielle in this store picking out books and sitting in between the aisles, trying desperately to narrow down the twenty some books I pulled off the shelves and claimed.

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I had tried to read 50 books in my Goodreads challenge, but I only got to 42. Like I said before, once my Apprenticeship with my literary agency came into being in October, my reading schedule abruptly halted.

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?

The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, ACOTAR by Sarah J. Maas, Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger, and Zaria Fierce by Keira Gillet!

Whoops, you said one?… Too bad!

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?

Most definitely Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I’ve legitimately heard nothing negative about this book. There’s been NO complaints and all I hear is that it’s amazing and that I have to read it immediately.

Speaking of which, I just ordered it on Kindle for $2.99 so that I can read it before my physical copy comes in a few hours! This survey is SO LONG! IT NEEDS TO END IMMEDIATELY!

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

Fear the Drowning Deep by Sarah Glenn Marsh. Have you SEEN that cover?! IT’S GORGEOUS! Cover flailing all the way!

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?

The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows. Dear goodness woman, STOP FEEDING OFF OUR TEARS AND GIVE US THE BOOK ALREADY!

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?

I’d like to be more consistent in my blogging and reading life in 2016 and really try to read more books!

6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

Uhh… I haven’t read any 2016 releases… =(

 

 

There you have it! Do we agree on any of the same books? Leave your comments below!

 

kellysig.png

 

 

5 thoughts on “Kelly’s 2015 End of Year Book Survey

  1. Yesss, Throne of Glass! That series made it into so many of my answers! I haven’t read Queen of Shadows yet, but it’s extremely high priority this year. I also need to read Jodi Meadows book, it sounds really good 🙂 Oh, and Eadlyn is the worst! I loved the Heir, but that damn girl…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, it was so hard not to put it down for just about everything! I had to whip out the Goodreads list of books I read and scroll through to find more appropriate answers. Hahaha! You must read QOS!!! =D

      Jodi Meadows is phenomenal, seriously. Please read it, but read it close to The Mirror King so you don’t suffer too much!

      Eadlyn… UGHHHHH!!!! When she was going through the first round of elimination… SERIOUSLY?!?! I just wanted to strangle her and scream out a furious fire of a hundred deaths until she woke up to reality. I really hope you know exactly what scene I’m talking about too. I love America, but her daughter frustrated me immensely. I’m hoping that in the next book, she really show sosme strong character development!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

