Waiting On Wednesday: Assassin’s Heart

waitingonwednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by the lovely Breaking the Spine.

21421609

Title: Assassin’s Heart
Author: Sarah Ahiers
Publisher: Harper Teen
Page Count: 400
Genre: Fantasy, Romance YA
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2016

Summary:

In the kingdom of Lovero, nine rival Families of assassins lawfully kill people for a price. As a highly skilled member of one of these powerful clans, seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana has always trusted in the strength of her Family. Until she awakens to find them murdered and her home in flames. The Da Vias, the Saldanas’ biggest enemy, must be responsible—and Lea should have seen it coming. But her secret relationship with the Da Vias’ son, Val, has clouded her otherwise killer instinct—and given the Da Vias more reason than ever to take her Family down.

Racked with guilt and shattered over Val’s probable betrayal, Lea sets out to even the score, with her heart set on retaliation and only one thought clear in her mind: make the Da Vias pay.

With shades of The Godfather and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a story of love, lies, and the ultimate vengeance.

__________________________________________________________________

About the Author:

DSC_0011_1

“I was born on a February afternoon 2 minutes before my twin sister. Angels wept or something, I suppose.

After a happy childhood filled with fun and family, I obtained a BA in English with an emphasis in fiction writing from the University of Minnesota, during which I was a bookseller. I also spent a semester as the fiction editor of The Wayfarer, the literary magazine for the U of MN.

I am currently enrolled in Hamline University’s MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults and am repped by Mollie Glick of Foundry Literary + Media

I live in a suburb of St Paul, MN in a house I own with my twin sister. We share the house with our brother, 3 dogs, 4 guinea pigs, 2 cockatiels, fish and occasional foster animals from the shelter.

Besides writing and reading, I enjoy dogs, animals, my family, board games, yard games, video games, cooking, gardening and dressing up for the MN Renaissance Festival.”

___________________________________________________________________

Why I’m Waiting:

Lauren: Knowing there is an Assassin is good enough of a reason for me to pick up this book. I love stories with assassins and even though there are books out there with assassins I still have not read very many. (Yes, I’m still trying to get time to read Throne of Glass series…*hangs head in shame*) The story itself sounds interesting and I can’t wait to see what this debut author has in store for us!

Is Assassin’s Heart on your list? Tell us why you’re waiting!

❤ Lauren, Melissa, and Kelly

One thought on “Waiting On Wednesday: Assassin’s Heart

  1. I had never heard of this book before. But I do like me a good assassin tale. YES read Throne of Glass series! The Assassins Curse is also a good read IMO is you’re looking for another. I’m going to go ahead and add this to my to be checked out pile. What I’m Waiting On.

    Like

Leave a Reply

