Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds

Top Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds!

Today’s Terrific Tuesday! That means it is time for our weekly Top Ten Tuesday created by the lovely girls at The Broke and The Bookish. For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday we’ve selected 10 characters who are fellow book nerds! Whether they love to read, sell books, or write stories of their own, we love finding relate-able characters who are just as book crazy as we are! We hope these quotes we’ve pulled best summarizes their bookish personality.

**********************************************************************************************

1. Alaska Young (Looking for Alaska) ~ Book Nerd

“Have you really read all those books in your room?” Alaska laughing- “Oh God no. I’ve maybe read a third of ‘em. But I’m going to read them all. I call it my Life’s Library. Every summer since I was little, I’ve gone to garage sales and bought all the books that looked interesting. So I always have something to read.”

John Green,  Looking for Alaska

2. Anne Frank (Diary of Anne Frank) ~ Writer

“I can shake off everything as I write; my sorrows disappear and my courage is reborn.”

– Anne Frank, Diary of Anne Frank

3. Cather Avery (Fangirl) ~ Book Nerd/Writer

But there’s nothing more profound than creating something out of nothing.”

-Rainbow Rowell, Fangirl

4. Dorian Havilliard (Throne of Glass series) ~ Book Nerd

My Most True Assassin, Enclosed are seven books from my personal library that I have recently read and enjoyed immensely.  You are of course, free to read as many of the books in the castle library as you wish, but I command you to read these first so that we might discuss them.  I promist they are not dull, for I am not one inclined to sit through pages of nonsense and bloated speech, though perhaps you enjoy works and authors who think very highly of themselves.

Most affectionately, Dorian Havilliard

– Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

5. Ella (Heroes of Olympus) ~ Book Nerd

Percy stared at the mound of books around her. They all looked old and mildewed. Some had prices written in marker on the covers, like the library had gotten rid of them in a clearance sale. “She’s quoting books,” Percy guessed. “Farmer’s Almanac 1965,” Ella said, ” ‘Start breeding animal, January twenty-sixth.’ ” “Ella,” he said, “have you read all of these?” She blinked. “More. More downstairs. Words. Words calm Ella down. Words, words, words.”

– Rick Riordan, Son of Neptune

6. Hazel Lancaster (The Fault in our Stars) ~ Book Nerd

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelistic zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”

– John Green, The Fault in our Stars

7. Hermione Granger (Harry Potter) ~ Book Nerd

“What are you doing with all those books anyway?” Ron asked, limping back to his bed. “Just trying to decide which ones to take with us,” said Hermione. “When we’re looking for the Horcruxes.” “Oh, of course,” said Ron, clapping a hand to his forehead. “I forgot we’ll be hunting down Voldemort in a mobile library.” 

J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

8. Klaus Baudelaire (A Series of Unfortunate Events) ~ Book Nerd/ Writer

“Klaus sighed, and opened a book, and as so many other times when the middle Baudelaire child did not want to think about his circumstances, he began to read.”

– Lemony Snicket, A Series of Unfortunate Events 

9. Matilda Wormwood (Matilda) ~ Book Nerd

“So Matilda’s strong young mind continued to grow, nurtured by the voices of all those authors who had sent their books out into the world like ships on the sea. These books gave Matilda a hopeful and comforting message: You Are Not Alone.”

– Roald Dahl, Matilda

10. Sam Roth (The Wolves of Mercy Falls series) ~ Bookseller/ Book Nerd

Behind the counter, I slouched on my stool in the sun and sucked in the summer as if I could hold every drop of it inside me. As the hours crept by, the afternoon sunlight bleached all the books on the shelves to pale, gilded versions of themselves and warmed the paper and the ink inside the covers so that the smell of unread words hung in the air. This was what I loved, when I was human.

– Maggie Stiefvater, Shiver

**********************************************************************************************

Coming Up:

LLR Girls Night!

We will be creating a new poll with the finalists of the Disney vote tomorrow and you will have exactly one week to vote for your favorite! We will have a date for you on August 1st! =) Keep an eye out for more about this even and if you would like to keep updated, sign up for the e-mail notifications for this event by clicking here!

Blog tags!

Melissa has a couple of blog tags coming up, so if you’re a blog friend of hers, BEWARE! She’s coming for you. 😉

Reviews and more reviews!

Tangled Webs by Lee Bross – Coming Soon!

Henrietta and the Dragon Stone by Beth Barany – Coming Soon!

The Short Life of Sparrows by Emm Cole – Coming Soon!

The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy – Coming Soon!

The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson– Coming Soon! 

We hope you all have a wonderful night!! =)

Melissa, Lauren, and Kelly

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds

    • Anne Frank was one of the books I actually enjoyed in school, and Matilda was my reading idol growing up! I used to watch that movie all the time! I couldn’t help but add these two people! Now I need to go watch Matilda again because you mentioned it! lol.

      Like

      • Sooooooooo never read Diary of Anne Frank. It wasn’t a requirement for me and then I just never picked it up… *hides*

        Like

      • no need to hide! To be completely honest, if it wasn’t required for school I probably wouldn’t have picked it up either. I’m just glad I did, I really enjoyed it. Big part of the reason I liked it so much could be because that is one of my favorite historical moments to read and learn about.

        Like

Leave a Reply

