Sunday Street Team – *Giveaway* Deadly Sweet Lies by Erica Cameron

Deadly Sweet Lies by Erica Cameron **Excerpt**

Deadly Sweet Lies (The Dream War Saga, #2)

Genre: YA Fantasy/Paranormal

Publisher: Spencer Hill Press

Publication Date: August 18, 2015

Goodreads Rating: 5.00 stars

Pages: 320

Synopsis:

“Nadette Lawson knows when you’re lying.

Every night for the past two years, the Balasura have visited her dreams, enticing her to enter their world. And every night she’s seen through their lies. Now, they’re tired of playing in the shadows and they begin to stalk her in the waking world. It’s no longer just an invitation; if Nadette doesn’t join them, they’ll take her family. Forever. She needs help, and the haven she’s seeking may be just out of reach.

Julian Teagan is a master of deception.

To survive, he has to convince the world his mother isn’t useless, that everything’s fine, otherwise he’ll lose what little he has left in this life. He knows the lying won’t be enough to keep him and his mother in the shadows, but it’s all he knows. The only light of truth is Orane, a Balasura who sees past Julian’s facade and challenges him to face the darkness.
Then Orane is killed, and Julian learns his mentor was far from innocent. The Balasura have hunted children like him for centuries, and their next target, Nadette is his one chance at finally being a part of something real. If Julian can just convince her to trust him…”

**********************************************************************************************

About Erica:

Erica Cameron

“After a lifelong obsession with books, Erica Cameron spent her college years getting credit for reading and learning how to make stories of her own. Erica graduated with a double major in psychology and creative writing from Florida State University and began pursuing a career as an author.

Erica is many things but most notably the following: writer, reader, editor, dance fan, choreographer, singer, lover of musical theater, movie obsessed, sucker for romance, ex-Florida resident, and quasi-recluse. She loves the beach but hates the heat, has equal passion for the art of Salvador Dali and Venetian Carnival masks, has a penchant for unique jewelry and sun/moon décor pieces, and a desire to travel the entire world on a cruise ship. Or a private yacht. You know, whatever works.

Her debut novel, Sing Sweet Nightingale, released March 2014 and it was the first volume of The Dream War Saga. In May 2015, Erica and her co-author Lani Woodland launched the Laguna Tides series with Taken by Chance.”

**********************************************************************************************

Excerpt from Deadly Sweet Lies:

“Do you remember what happened that night? Do you remember what you saw?”

It’s almost as though someone is reaching into my head and rearranging the pieces of memory from Friday night, clicking them into the right order. All the missing bits are suddenly there, unlocked and falling into place.

Images flash through my head: Orane standing in a dead landscape, a figure draped in shadows, and a scream that burst across the barrier between worlds.

Oh, no. My knees tremble and I fold in half, my arms wrapped around my stomach and my hands locked in fists as I gasp for breath and try to hold on. How could this happen? And how could I forget what I saw? And why couldn’t I do anything to help him? After all he’s done for me, why couldn’t I step in and help him the one time he was in trouble?

Small hands wrap around my shoulders and haul me upright. Pheodora is a lot stronger than she looks, practically lifting me off the ground.

“Do not cry for him, Julian. He does not deserve it.”

You don’t understand! I want to protest, but the words are trapped inside my head. Orane was my retreat and he gave me a place to escape reality. His world was my safe haven and he was my closest friend. Now, if Pheodora is telling me the truth, he’s gone.

“His actions caught up with him at last,” Pheodora says, her voice strong but still sympathetic. “One of Orane’s victims turned against him and destroyed him.”

Destroyed him.

That’s it. The last cut of the knife, the one that digs in and hits every single major artery in my body, leaving me drained and cold.

My legs buckle and only Pheodora’s grip on my arms keeps me from collapsing. The tears I was barely containing escape, cutting warm tracks across cold skin. Pheodora wraps her arms around me, making soothing nonsense noises and stroking my hair. Her touch only reminds me of what I lost, of Orane and everything I’ll never have again.

“Leave me alone!” I scream, shoving her away. She could probably stop me if she felt like it, but she releases me. “The only thing I believe is that Orane is g-gone.” Speaking the words almost breaks me, but I force them out, taking shallow, gasping breaths and trying to stay on my feet. “Because if h-he were still alive, he’d n-never let you near me.”

It’s there again in her eyes, the empathy and the pain, but this time it’s tinged with pity. “Julian, that is truer than you know, but not for the reasons you imagine.”

There’s still not a single twitch in her expression to give me hope. Nothing to make me think she’s not telling the truth.

“No. No.” I back away, giving in to the impulse to wrap my arms around myself. Not for warmth—I’m shaking so badly it feels like my arms are all that will keep me together. “You said you’d let me go. Let me go!”

It’s the only coherent thought left in my head.

Let me go, let me go, please, please, let me go.

Though Pheodora sighs, tears still hanging from her pale eyelashes, she nods, relenting.

“I will return, Julian. Every night for as long as it takes to prove the truth to you.” She waves a hand. I risk a glance over my shoulder, feet itching to run as I watch the glowing arch appear behind me. My crappy bedroom lies beyond it. Without waiting for permission, I flee.

The air changes as soon as I leave the dreamworld behind, thickening until I can almost feel it pressing against me. Welcoming me back or trying to push me away?

I dive for my bed, holding on to it like a life raft on the open ocean, and each gasping breath burns like salt water on an open wound. My head spins and my thoughts crash into each other like waves in opposing currents. Everything Pheodora said echoes, the words ringing in my ears no matter how hard I try to push them away. I hope she’s gone. Please let her be gone.

Peering back, all I see is the blank, dingy wall of my bedroom. No glittering birds and no glowing white doorway and definitely no lying, pink-haired witch.

But, it wasn’t all lies, was it?

The tears start again, still feeling far too warm against my skin. Dragging in shuddering breaths, I dig my hands into my hair and curl over, screaming into the mattress. He’s gone. Whether Pheodora told the truth about what Orane wanted or not, he’s gone.

My best friend is dead.”

**********************************************************************************************

Giveaway:

Erica is nice enough to offer one signed copy of Deadly Sweet Lies plus the necklace on the cover to one lucky winner!! You can enter by clicking the link below! Good luck!

Click here to enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway!

**********************************************************************************************

Coming Up:

LLR Girls Night!

We will be creating a new poll with the finalists of the Disney vote tomorrow and you will have exactly one week to cote for your favorite! We will have a date for you on August 1st! =) Keep an eye out for more about this even and if you would like to keep updated, sign up for the e-mail notifications for this event by clicking here!

Blog tags!

Melissa has a couple of blog tags coming up, so if you’re a blog friend of hers, BEWARE! She’s coming for you. 😉

Reviews and more reviews!

Tangled Webs by Lee Bross – Coming Soon!

Henrietta and the Dragon Stone by Beth Barany – Coming Soon!

The Short Life of Sparrows by Emm Cole – Coming Soon!

The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy – Coming Soon!

The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson– Coming Soon! 

We hope you all have a wonderful night!! =)

 Lauren, Melissa, and Kelly

Leave a Reply

