Review: Henrietta The Dragon Slayer by Beth Barany

Henrietta The Dragon Slayer by Beth Barany:

11713438

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Publisher: Firewolf Books

Publication DateJune 7th, 2011

Goodreads Rating: 3.96 stars

Pages: 236

Synopsis:

“**Grand Prize Winner of the 2012 California Book Fiction Challenge

Henrietta, the legendary Dragon Slayer of the Kingdom of Bleuve, can’t stomach the thought of one more kill. Yet, in order to save her dying mentor, she must go on one last quest. But will misfit companions, seasickness, and an ego maniacal king derail the quest for the healing stone? And will she be able to cut past her conscience and kill the dragon?”

You can buy this book on Amazon by clicking here!

You can buy this book from Barnes & Noble by clicking here!

You can add this book on Goodreads by clicking here!

********************************************************************************

About Beth Barany :

Beth Barany

Based in the San Francisco Bay Area, Beth Barany has been making up fantasy and adventure stories all her life. It only took her thirty years to actually start writing them down, then grit and determination to whip them into shape. She writes to empower girls and women with her kickass heroines who are faced with saving the world against great odds. In her off hours, Beth enjoys cardio kickboxing, stick yoga, reading and watching movies with her husband, author and musician Ezra Barany, and two cats, Kitty and Leo. For school visits and presentations, Beth Barany can be contacted through her site at www.bethbarany.com. She loves to hear from her readers at beth@bethbarany.com

********************************************************************************

My Review:

As a whole, Henrietta The Dragon Slayer was a wonderful book. I loved Henrietta as a character and I truly enjoyed getting to know the side characters as well. Following them on their journey to conclude Henrietta’s quest brought this feeling of fulfillment and happiness to me as a reader, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

What I Loved:

1. Henrietta…

She was such a wonderful character and reminded me a lot of what I hope my future main character is like. Her character development was beautiful as you saw her slowly let go of her stubborn attitude and let her closed off walls crumble a little bit. Reading as she interacted with everyone around her and learning more about her personality truly made her come alive as not just a character on a page, but a person who has been hurt before and isn’t sure she is willing to let that happen again. Henrietta was a beautiful character and a true to life representation of many people I know, especially in a world like today where most aren’t too forgiving.

2. The storyline…

I really enjoyed reading this book because of the story line. It’s a plot that I have yet to see in any books I have read and I honestly loved following it. It was less about actually slaying a dragon and more about the characters truly finding themselves and finding their “home”, so to speak. Keep this in mind when you read it! Don’t go into this book thinking that there is just going to be blood and guts everywhere from a dragon slayer doing her job. This book has a lot more depth than that!

3. The secondary characters…

Meeting the secondary characters in this book was a nice breath of fresh air. They brought elements (haha, pun intended) to the story that really helped to round out Henrietta’s stubborn and sometimes irritable nature. It was nice to read about secondary characters who could handle that type of personality with ease and restraint and allow Henrietta to open up on her own time. 

4. There was no romantic attraction…

This was GREAT! I really wanted to read a book where the heroine was more focused on the task at hand, on finding herself and solving her problems, BEFORE she got into a romantic relationship. This is EXACTLY what I needed and I’m so thankful that Beth wrote her novel this way. Henrietta solved her problems before you even started to see some kind of romance well up in her heart. Even then, it was only hinted enough to make you want more and to find out what happens! She made herself happy before she let herself fall in love, and I can’t even say fall in love because she really isn’t in love yet… she’s just living her life the way she has always wanted to. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU Beth Barany for loving Henrietta so much that you made her fall in love the way she’s supposed to; with trust, friendship, and a solid idea of who she is.

What I Wanted More Of:

1. Description, description, description…

I saw this a lot while there were long sequences of dialogue happening. During the dialogue, I would find my mind stopping mid sentence and trying to picture what the main characters are doing. I felt like the book needed a bit more description so that my mind could not just follow along with their conversation but truly picture what it was they were doing while talking. This description is what helps people to get lost in books and I feel like if there was a little bit more of it in the actual dialogue scenes, my mind would be able to follow along a little bit easier. I kept getting caught up as I was able to picture everything with perfect clarity while the characters weren’t talking, and then the picture would disappear as I read long dialogues.

2. Answers…

I’m assuming many of the unanswered questions will be addressed in the sequel, which I’m very excited to read, by the way!!! The only questions I honestly wished was addressed was towards the end when Henrietta was exhausted. It was hinted that she may be under a spell, but within a few scenes, she was back to being fine with no actual answer as to what happened to her to make her so tired. Even if it is answered in the sequel, alluding to the correct answer in a way that made the reader sure she was under a spell would put my mind a little more at ease. Even if I didn’t find out who put her under that spell until the sequel, I’d be able to read on knowing that I still had to figure out who it was that did that to her and why?! 

Overall, I honestly loved reading about Henrietta the Dragon Slayer and I can’t wait to read the sequel! I’m giving this book four hearts!

Beth, it has been such a pleasure interacting with you and talking with you about how much I just adore Henrietta! I can’t wait to read the sequel and I’m sure I will be tweeting all about my emotions and how much I love another character as well. *wink*… Trying not to give anything away… but that smile at the end of the book was absolutely GORGEOUS  in my mind. She found herself, now I’m ready for the next trial and some heat! 😉 YAY!

********************************************************************************

Coming Up:

SWANKY SATURDAY IS HAPPENING TOMORROW in honor of the U.S. 4th of July holiday!

Have you buddy read with anyone recently? Take it to your blog or our comments and post it on Friday! Interview each other, GIF your feelings, review it, debate about it, whatever you want to do! Make it fun! Grab a Swanky Saturday button, which are posted on the right hand side of the blog, and have a blast! We encourage you guys to get involved and it’s a great conversation starter!

Girls Night Watch Along!

Lauren and I are beginning our trek to host a Girls Night Watch Along! Men are of course invited to join us as well. Sorry for the “Girls” in the title! However, we want YOUR HELP in deciding the movies we’re going to watch, the dates, and the times! We will have a poll coming up shortly (hopefully later tonight) in a post explaining what our Watch Along will consist of, why we’re doing it, and why we really hope you will join us! Keep your eyes out for it in the next few days!

Reviews and more reviews!

Tangled Webs by Lee Bross – Coming Soon!

The Leveller by Julia Durango – Coming Soon!

Paperweight by Meg Haston – Coming Soon!

Henrietta and the Dragon Stone by Beth Barany – Coming Soon!

Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson – Coming on Sunday, 7/5 for Nori’s Sunday Street Team!

Have a wonderful rest of your day!

❤ Kelly

3 thoughts on “Review: Henrietta The Dragon Slayer by Beth Barany

  1. Pingback: Review: Henrietta and the Dragon Stone by Beth Barany | Live, Love, Read

  2. Pingback: Musings of Beth Barany | Live, Love, Read

Leave a Reply

