Waiting on Wednesday: Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George

Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George

22929540

Genre: YA Fantasy/Historical

Publisher: Bloosmbury USA Childrens

Publication Date: July 7th, 2015

Goodreads Rating: 3.58 stars

Pages: 358

Synopsis: 

“A New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate . . . or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.”

***********************************************************************************************

About the Author:

From Jessica’s website:

“Jessica Day George earned a BA in Humanities/Comparative Literature from Brigham Young University, where she enjoyed classes in Pottery and Old Norse, and dutifully forced herself to take Algebra and Biology. Originally from Idaho, she now resides in Salt Lake City, Utah, with her husband and three young children.”

***********************************************************************************************

Why We Want This Book!

Kelly:

Okay, firstly, Libba Bray is one of my favorite authors and I LOVE Cassandra Clare’s City of Bone’s series. Finding a mix between the two authors and their stories? I’M THERE! =) Plus, I’m slowly starting to get back into YA historical fiction and I think that a book like this, with a few paranormal/fantastical elements to it would be just the key to opening up my heart to more genres other than just fantasy! Also, Professor McGonagall was my favorite professor in Harry Potter for many reasons; Her shape changer qualities being one of them!!!

Lauren:

Can I just say, the cover looks AMAZING! Now that I got that out of the way, I can get to why I am looking forward to this one. I have not read many historical fiction novels, so I’m really trying to work on that. I have found a few I would like to read, and this one really caught my attention. (Again, look at the cover!) After reading the synopsis I knew this book is one I would probably enjoy. By just what I have seen it has a sense of mystery, and paranormal elements to it. All things I enjoy! So I am really looking forward to this one!

***********************************************************************************************

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking The Spine, which you can find here!

Also, keep an eye out for a review of The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi (IT CAME OUT TODAY AND IT’S AMAZING! YOU ALL NEED TO BUY THIS BOOK NOW!) on the blog! I’m so excited to help get the word out about her amazing book, I just need to find the right words! =) TOMORROW, hopefully!!!

A review on Tangled Webs by Lee Bross will be going up shortly as well!!! Another one you all need to have on your TBR lists!! =) This one triggered my brain to open up more for historical fiction!!

We hope to see you next week for Waiting on Wednesday! What are you currently waiting for?!

 ❤ Lauren and Kelly

5 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George

Leave a Reply

