HUGE ANNOUNCEMENT and MANY GIVEAWAYS!

The Big Announcement!

Alright, my lovelies. So, big, huge, amazing, phenomenal JUST PLAIN AWESOME ANNOUNCEMENT… I NOW HAVE A CO-BLOGGER!

I’m am so excited, it’s not even funny. Not only is my new co-blogger my writing partner, but she is one who I consider to be my best friend on the internet. I don’t know where I would be without her!

When she first pitched this idea to me, I was still a little skeptical about a co-blogger in the first place. I took some time, thought about it, talked to some other people who co-blogged, and realized that she was right. This was most definitely the right course for me and the blog; I was just too worried to see it! Plus, with where I wanted this blog to go, it wasn’t getting there any time soon with just me working it.

Not only has my new co-blogger brought some great, new ideas for this blog to the table, but she’s also enabled me to work harder, create and manage new social media platforms, and to get my blog in order! She’s just plain AMAZING and I love her to pieces!! ❤

Please join me in welcoming LAUREN WEBB to Live, Love, Read!!

***************************************************************************************************

Hello everyone, *waves* I’m Lauren! I have been around on Twitter for almost a year now and am excited to officially join my new best friend, Kelly, on her blog! We have been talking a lot recently about all kinds of book and writing related topics, so actually working together on a blog is going to be AWESOME!

She forced me to do this A to Z survey so everyone could get a few ideas on my bookish ways, so I guess I better get started…

This survey was made by Jamie, The Perpetual Page-Turner! She’s a wonderful person and an amazing blogger! You can find her blog by clicking here!


Author you’ve read the most books from:

One of my favorite series is 10 books long, so I will have to give this honor to….Rick Riordan!

Best Sequel Ever:

Picking one sequel as the best is hard! I have not read many sequels in series lately so finding a really good one is kinda tricky. I will have to go with Catching Fire.

Currently Reading:

I’m currently finishing up The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater. Ronan! *Swoon* Why do we always have to fall for the bad boys? Planning on starting Blue Lily, Lily Blue next!

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Being a Southern girl having a nice, cool glass of Sweat Tea is my favorite while reading!  Or a hot cup of coffee, with vanilla creamer. yum!

Ereader or Physical Book?

 As long as I can read, E-book or Physical doesn’t really matter to me. But, I will normally pick physical over ebook any day. I love having the book to hold, flipping the page to see what comes next. The smell of the book as you read. Plus having really pretty covers on books make it like art for your shelf.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

 Ok, I’m not going to even lie to you about this one…I was never one of the “cool” kids in school. I would talk to everyone, but I never belonged to the popular crowd. So all the fictional characters that are like the embodiment of sexy and perfection would be completely out of my league. But that is ok! The fictional character I would have ACTUALLY dated, would probably have to be…Neville Longbottom from Harry Potter. His dorkable self would have went together perfectly with me! And I wouldn’t have minded one bit.

Glad you gave this book a chance:

 This is an easy one to answer: The Selection series! I had seen this book around a lot, but always stayed away from it because I figured it wouldn’t be that great. It sounded like the Bachelor, and I’m not the biggest fan of that show. This Valentine’s Day, my library did a blind date with a book. I ended up getting this one as my date, and decided to read it. Found a couple of friends on Twitter to read it with and ended up loving it! Devoured the series quickly and snatched The Heir up as soon as it came out!

Hidden Gem Book:

Between the Lines by Karen White. If you haven’t read this one, you should give it a try. One of the few Adult books I actually enjoyed as much as Young Adult.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

 When I got into high school, I slowly lost my fire to read all the time. I had better things to do than sit home and read. In my first year of College, I started getting back into reading. I would swing by the library on my way home from class and pick up a book to enjoy while I should actually be studying. Then I found the world of books on Twitter! I found other people that enjoyed the same books I was reading and found new stories to pick up because of what everyone was tweeting about. Now I’m back to reading all the time and have no plans on stopping anytime soon!
 
Being the only book reader in my circle of family and friends, it was hard to enjoy something no one else had a desire to enjoy with you. So thank you all for helping me! So finding everyone on Twitter and getting into blogging has been my important moment. Not only has it made me want to read more than ever, but I now am also trying to work on writing my own book.

Just Finished:

 The Raven Boys. A friend pretty much talked me into reading this, and I’m now determined to finish all the books!

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

To be honest, I pretty much love everything, I may not be the biggest fan of certain genres, but I will still read them. BUT the one I’m pretty sure I will never really pick up, would be erotica books. I can do romance and very steamy romance, but books like Fifty Shades is just a bit too much for me.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

According to Goodreads, J.K. Rowling wins this one! Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix at a whopping 870 pages long!
**There’s an easy way to find this out. Go to your Goodreads “read” list, don’t scroll down but where you are on the screen there will be this little tab on the bottom that lets you choose how you want to scroll or how many books you want display. There is also a sort option with a drop down and you can sort by page. – Broke and Bookish**

Major book hangover because of:

 Let’s just blame J. K. Rowling for this one. I still can’t get over Harry Potter. Years after I finished and I still think about it. She must have put a spell on the readers so we could never forget! Even when I’m older and someone asks if I love Harry Potter I will simply reply with, “Always.”

Number of Bookcases You Own:

As a book lover this is slightly depressing to admit, but I only have….1 book case. *winces* I would love to have more, but I don’t have enough books to justify more cases at the moment. But I will get more soon!!

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

 I have never kept count of how many times I have read books, so I’m going to cheat on this question. I can’t pick just one, and I know I have read them all multiple times because I would read each book again, and again before each new release. So this honor goes to: Harry Potter series and Percy Jackson series. (Two of my favorite book series)

Preferred Place To Read:

My bed, no contest! Get a good book, snuggle up with my fuzzy blanket and my comfy pillow…heaven! I usually only read at night before I go to sleep anyway, so this is the best place for me. Thinking about it, this could be why I have a hard time falling to sleep. Too busy READING!!!!

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

Finding quotes I love from books is never really hard, every book seems to having at least one great quote. If anything, you are sure to find this quote somewhere in the pages, “I released the breath I didn’t realize I was holding.” Apparently, a lot of characters forget to breathe. That is not the quote I want to share with you though, the one that means the most to me is:
 
 “You are BRAVER than you believe, STRONGER than you seem, SMARTER than you think, AND LOVED more than you know.”  A.A. Milne, Winnie the Pooh
I have loved this quote from childhood and it still means a lot to me today!

Reading Regret:

Taking a break from reading. I spent a few years not really reading much and because of that, I am now behind on a lot of series! Only good part about this is that most of the series already have all the books out, so I don’t have to wait!

Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series):

 The Darkest Minds series. I read The Darkest Minds but have not yet read the other two books and the novellas that go with it. I still need to get the third book though, but I plan on getting to this series again soon.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

Having to pick just 3 is going to be really hard! I have a lot of books I love so instead of just doing the 3 All-Time favorite, I’m going to pick the 3 that meant the most to me!
1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling- This is the book that truly hooked me into fantasy!
2. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett – One of the first books I read for myself!
3. Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein – Used to be my go to book for fun!

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

As you can see, I have no problem fangirling for Harry Potter or Percy Jackson. And I will never really apologize for it. I may say sorry, but I probably don’t really mean it. I have other books and authors I will fangirl over, but majority of the time these two series are my main problem. If you have read them, you probably understand.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

 I have so many books I’m looking forward to, the only problem is most are books to continue series I haven’t started yet, or books to new series. There is one book, however, that kinda goes with the question above. I’m going to say Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard. I probably wouldn’t be as excited about this book, except for the fact that I learned the main character will connect with characters from Percy Jackson. So that really has me intrigued, plus if it’s Asgard that means Loki and Thor may show up. I can’t wait to see how Riordan will write these gods.
 
I have a love for mythology, which is a major reason I love Percy Jackson, so getting a new set of stories based on myths is something I’m really excited about!!
 
Just to have something other than a MG book to look forward to, my other major release would be: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. The cover alone is breathtaking, but the story just sounds so good!

Worst Bookish Habit:

I think one of my worst bookish habits would be my over protectiveness of my babies. When I get a book, I take care of it. No broken spine, no bent pages, no scratches. I try my hardest to keep them in perfect condition! So if someone wants to borrow my babies, I kinda get a little rude about it. If I know you don’t take care of books, you will NOT be borrowing mine. I will be happy to point you in the direction of a very nice library or book store, but I’m not letting you harm my precious. This is probably something I should work on…

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

 1…2…3…4……..26….27!!! Graceling by Kristin Cashore is the lucky winner!

Your latest book purchase:

My latest book purchase is An Ember in the Ashes. I also finally bought my own copy of the Percy Jackson series! They have new covers and are beautiful! *stares at the pretties on the shelf*

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

Sara J. Maas ruined my sleep for 2 nights! I started reading A Court of Thorns and Roses and couldn’t stop! The writing was magical to me and the story just wouldn’t let me go!!! Worst part of this was the fact that I was dumb enough to read this during Finals. Talk about the wrong time to be sleep deprived!
 
I guess that is it! I hope you all had fun reading my answers to the questions!!
Thank you, Lauren! I’m SO EXCITED to have you here and I can’t wait to see how our blog changes and improves with your influence. ❤
***************************************************************************************************

New Social Media!

Now, before you scroll down to the giveaways, PLEASE take note that Live, Love, Read has a few new social platforms that we would love to interact with you on! We will be sharing announcements, posts, events, pictures, and more on all of these sites, so we hope that you will help us get these up and rolling and follow us on all of them as well!
You know you want to add us…
***************************************************************************************************

New Events!

Also, in addition to these social media sites, we will be picking up Waiting on Wednesdays! Keep an eye out for our first WoW post this week! We have a very special book to announce to you! =)

We will also be forming and announcing a Movie Night for any of those who would like to watch with us! Once a month, we will announce a movie, a date, and a time and give you our Twitter hashtag and Facebook status to interact with us on social media while watching it. Lauren, myself, and our friends love to do this as it makes us feel a little closer to those who care about us when we are separated by multiple states!

We are currently in the process of getting an online YA Fantasy Book Club up and running! This is an idea we are extremely excited about, but we have to figure out the kinks first. Keep an eye out over the summer for updates on this!

***************************************************************************************************

The Giveaways!

To celebrate, we are giving away all of the following books:

Giveaway #1:

1 SIGNED copy of An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir!

Ember1 Ember2

Click here to enter the giveaway for An Ember in the Ashes!

Giveaway #2:

1 SIGNED copy of Jennifer Armentrout’s White Hot Kiss and Stone Cold Touch!

JArmentrout1 JArmentrout2

Click here to enter the giveaway for Jennifer Armentrout!

Giveaway #3

1 ARC of The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi!

(Please note, this Giveaway ends earlier than the others in order to celebrate its release on the 16th of June! Congratulations Lauren Gibaldi!)

The Night

Click here to enter the giveaway for The Night We Said Yes ARC!

***************************************************************************************************

Coming Up!

We have tomorrow’s Top Ten Tuesday ready to go!

Waiting on Wednesday is featuring a very special book from a very awesome author! Stay tuned for that one!

We have a guest post from miss Danielle Ellison coming up on Sunday, June 14th. We are so happy to say that this guest post is AMAZING and really touches the heart. Keep your eyes out for that post and make sure to bring a tissue in case you get teary!

Reviews coming up:

Tangled Webs by Lee Bross

The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

The Leveller by Julia Durango

Paperweight by Meg Haston

A HUGE thank you to Wendy from The Midnight Garden and HarperTeen for their generosity with four of the books listed directly above, and Nori from ReadWriteLove28 for lending me her Tangled Webs ARC! =)

We hope you all have an amazing week and we look forward to seeing all of your most anticipated picks for tomorrow’s Top Ten Tuesday!

Lauren and Kelly

64 thoughts on “HUGE ANNOUNCEMENT and MANY GIVEAWAYS!

  1. Loved all of Lauren’s answers to the questions! I also fell back into reading my first year of college so I can relate. Can’t wait to read your reviews etc.!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I reckon having a co-blogger must be amazing! I hope you both have so much fun with it all. I really enjoy doing my own Waiting on Wednesday post, and I think youse will too. Thanks for the giveaways 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. oh welcome! this is so exciting. I just wanted to say that I’m trying to read The Raven Boys right now and even though it’s super slow going I haven’t given up!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 1. Awesome blog!
    2. The survey answers are awesome!
    3. Omg, I have the same worst bookish habit! I had to stop lending out my books and I just recommend them lol
    4. Congrats! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey Lauren, nice to meet you! Bed’s definitely the best place to read, you can tell yourself you’re going to read just ONE more chapter and then sleep. And of course end up finishing the book 😛 Was just wondering if the giveaways are international? Wouldn’t want to enter if it’s not 🙂

    Like

    • Ahh, I’m so sorry! I ALWAYS forget to put the guidelines up! I think I get so excited about the giveaways that I completely forget! =( The furthest I can ship books is to Canada! I’m so sorry! My job doesn’t pay well enough, unfortunately. =(

      Like

    • Hi Alyssa!! Thank you for the welcome! YES!! I always do that to myself. I’ll go to bed after this chapter. *finish chapter* Ok, ONE more chapter…*6 chapters later* One more chapter. Sorry, but the giveaways are not international. 😦

      Like

  6. What a wonderful announcement! Welcome, Lauren! I’m looking forward to your future posts! Good luck to you two! And oh, I’m also a sucker for Harry Potter! Yay! And thank you for this lovely giveaway!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

