Spotlight: The Countess’ Captive by Andrea Cefalo + GIVEAWAY!

The Countess’ Captive by Andrea Cefalo

Goodreads Summary:

During March of 1248, Adelaide Schumacher-affectionately called Snow White-has lost so much: her mother, her possessions, and now her home.

Adelaide hates abandoning her home city, her family’s legacy, and her first love-Ivo. More than anything, she hates her father growing closer to her mother’s cousin-Galadriel. Adelaide plots to end their tryst before her fate is sealed, and she never sets foot in Cologne again.

But good and pious can only get Galadriel so far. Never again will she be destitute. Never again will she be known by the cruel moniker-Cinderella. Never again will someone take what is rightfully hers. No matter what it takes.

From the award-winning author of The Fairytale Keeper comes this highly anticipated sequel, another masterful, historically-set retelling of Grimm’s fairytales. The Countess’ Captive combines Grimm’s fairytale characters with real historical settings and events to create a tale that leaves the reader wondering where facts end and fiction begins.

Praise for The Fairytale Keeper (from Goodreads):

“I’m a big fan of people who find new ways to share old stories. With The Fairytale Keeper, Andrea Cefalo has given us a reality-based version of the classic tale of Snow White that is every bit as magical as the versions we all grew up with (and I’m not talking about Disney), even though there’s no actual magic in it.” – Melissa

“The Fairytale Keeper was a whole new take on Snow White. I’ve read many fairy tale retellings which keep the magical aspect of the story and add new twists, but this is the first novel I’ve read where the fairy tale was retold with a plot grounded in historical events/facts. Although the dark ages setting was not enchanting (ech, the plague), the author created a very rich world. The story as a whole was very well-written with a unique concept and romantic elements, as well as an admirably strong heroine in Adelaide.” – Carey McKenna Jones

“This book is probably one of the most unique takes on a fairy tale.” – Cheryl

” As the title goes, Fairytale Keeper, your journey in reading will bring you to various fairy tales that we grew up with and see for yourself how it was connected to our heroine, Adelaide.” – Precious of the Flipping Bookworm

“I read it and loved it! The rich vocabulary paints a picturesque setting. Cefalo successfully melds fairy tale and historical fiction creating a strong heroine. The imagery is vibrant. One can see, hear, feel, and smell the town of Cologne and the surrounding countryside as well as the people who dwell there. The medieval story, which incorporates well known tales, has been knit together very carefully with unexpected twists, turns and surprises. A very satisfying story yet ending with circumstances that leave one craving the next installation. And I must mention the awesome cover illustration!” – Mrs. Cubby Culbertson

Praise for The Countess’ Captive (from Goodreads):

“This is another win for author Andrea Cefalo! She has taken the fairy tale Cinderella in this second installment and weaved in her well done changes with exciting details and well developed characters.” – Debbie

“Thoughtful, imaginative and fast-paced, I loved learning more of Adelaide’s story and a look into Medieval life for a Countess and her household…Just as in The Fairytale Keeper, several fairytales are woven together artfully, and so that it doesn’t feel like a retelling, but more of actual events that could be construed into a fairy tale as time passes. I can’t wait to see what lies ahead for Adelaide in the The Baseborn Lady.” – Stephanie

“The follow up to The Fairytale Keeper is brilliant. If you are familiar with the first book in this series, you need to read The Countess’ Captive. You’ll gain respect for a few of the continuing characters and a slew of new comers. However, if you have a heart in your chest, you will learn the meaning of hatred and disgust for a return character and some of that character’s friends. Compassion is hurled into the wind in this edition of what promises to be a classic.” – Ken

“Another excellent installment in The Fairytale Keeper series. Cefalo weaves history, fairytales, and intrigue with equal aplomb. Adelaide is the strong female protagonist young girls today need. Great book! Can’t wait for The Baseborn Lady!” – Corrye

Andrea Cefalo:

Andrea Cefalo is a bit of a roamer, growing up in New Hampshire, Maryland, and South Carolina, though the bulk of her family lives in Maine. She dreamed of a career in art restoration, but somehow ended up becoming a grade school teacher before realizing she really wanted to be a writer. She taught for three years and then decided to finish The Fairytale Keeper series and pursue her new found ambition. Andrea lives with her husband and two border collies in Greenville, South Carolina, which she calls home, at least for now.

Interview with Andrea Cefalo (from previous post):

Q: What made you want to become an author?

Andrea: I always enjoyed writing, but it wasn’t like I just knew I was going to be a writer. The idea for The Fairytale Keeper came to me in 2006. I wrote a little of it. Then, life happened: I graduated college, I got a real job, I married my husband, we bought a house. The Fairytale Keeper fell by the wayside. I got really sick in 2010 and had to leave teaching. I didn’t really know where I fit in to the world after that. If I wasn’t a teacher what was I? Writing had been cathartic for me in the past, so I dusted off my manuscript and got to work. Two years later, I published The Fairytale Keeper.

Q: What has fueled your love of the medieval times?

Andrea: The short answer to that: travel and books. During a middle school field trip to New York City, our group visited The Cloisters, a branch of The Metropolitan Museum of Art devoted to the architecture and arts of medieval Europe. Growing up in the US, I had never stepped inside a Medieval building before. I was in absolute awe. A few years later, my mom took me to England, and we toured Canterbury along with several other famous castles and cathedrals. A children’s literature course required me to readCrispin by Avi and The Midwife’s Apprentice by Karen Cushman. These amazing books took me back to those great experiences and rekindled my passion for the time period.

Q: What is your writing process like?

Andrea: The process changes. Right now, I am finalizing revisions for my the third novel in The Fairytale Keeper series, The Baseborn Lady. Lately, I spend the first part of my day on the business end of publishing: tweeting, blogging, etc. Then, I read for an hour. Reading great books makes the revising go more quickly and more smoothly. Did I mention coffee? There is lots of coffee involved.

Q: In your opinion, what is the best thing about being an author?

Andrea: By far, my favorite aspect of writing is connecting with my readers. When someone truly gets what I am doing, it’s better than selling a thousand books.

Q: What inspired you to write The Fairytale Keeper?

Andrea: The idea came to me during a children’s literature class. We were comparing fairytales across cultures and the professor said that nearly all cultures had a Cinderella story.  If that’s true, then either the real Cinderella lived thousands of years ago or there is just something so compelling about such a story that most cultures created their own.  My story works on the first assumption: What if all Grimm’s fairy tales originated with one person?

Q: How did you come up with the title The Fairytale Keeper?

Andrea: It was trial and error. I suck at coming up with titles. The basic premise—that Adelaide is the origin of Grimm’s fairytales—seemed like a good place to start. But how do you communicate that in only a few words? The story was almost called The Fairytale Ancestress, but ancestress sort of sounds like incest, so I threw that one out. When I came up with The Fairytale Keeper, I knew that was it.

Q: Your main character’s name, Adelaide, means “noble” and “kind”. Coincidence?!

Andrea: I wish I had something profound to say about this, but I don’t. Sorry! It is a complete coincidence.

Q: What made you pick Snow White for Adelaide’s nickname?

Andrea: The Fairytale Keeper follows the life of a medieval commoner who was not only the real Snow, but the origin of Grimm’s fairytales, as well. Therefore, Adelaide was Snow White well before she was ever Adelaide. It took me a while to name her, but Snow White is not a very Medieval name, so I scoured resources for Medieval German names, and Adelaide resonated with me. It just sounded right.

Q: Who is your favorite character in The Fairytale Keeper?

Andrea: That changes. When I write too much of a character, I get a little sick of them. I also don’t like characters who are all good or all bad, so when I can show the humanity of villains or the flaws of my so-called heroes and heroines, I’m a pretty happy camper.

Q: What can we expect to see in The Countess Captive?

Andrea: Someone is going to get married. I won’t say who.

Haha, way to leave us on a cliffy. =) Andrea, it was SO WONDERFUL to interview you. I loved having you here and look forward to working with you again!

Keep an eye out for more on The Fairytale Keeper series here on Live, Love, Read! I’ll be posting a review on The Fairytale Keeper series on April 20th, where you will also find the winner of the giveaway!

The Fairytale Keeper Giveaway:

You only have 16 days left to enter to win a copy of Andrea’s series in ebook format! One lucky winner will get both ebooks!

Giveaway Conditions:

Winner will be announced via twitter and on my blog post on April 20th!

The winner will have 48 hours to get back to me.

If I do not receive a response after 48 hours has passed, I will select another winner.

Enter Giveaway by clicking HERE!

A few quick reminders: Spectacularly Swanky Saturdays is happening NOW! Please feel free to join the Swank Six in the bookish fun! The ACOTAR giveaway will only last until TOMORROW! Be sure to get your entries in this weekend! P.S. You get extra entries for entering in to The Fairytale Keeper giveaway as well. 😉 My review for this series will be going up on April 20th! WAHOOO!!! I’m so looking forward to reviewing it for all of you!

Have a wonderful holiday weekend and enjoy all of your spring breaks! =)

❤ Kelly

Leave a Reply

