Review: The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows

The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows

Goodreads Summary:

Wilhelmina has a hundred identities.

She is a princess. When the Indigo Kingdom conquered her homeland, Wilhelmina and other orphaned children of nobility were taken to Skyvale, the Indigo Kingdom’s capital. Ten years later, they are the Ospreys, experts at stealth and theft. With them, Wilhelmina means to take back her throne.

She is a spy. Wil and her best friend, Melanie, infiltrate Skyvale Palace to study their foes. They assume the identities of nobles from a wraith-fallen kingdom, but enemies fill the palace, and Melanie’s behavior grows suspicious. With Osprey missions becoming increasingly dangerous and their leader more unstable, Wil can’t trust anyone.

She is a threat. Wraith is the toxic by-product of magic, and for a century using magic has been forbidden. Still the wraith pours across the continent, reshaping the land and animals into fresh horrors. Soon it will reach the Indigo Kingdom. Wilhelmina’s magic might be the key to stopping the wraith, but if the vigilante Black Knife discovers Wil’s magic, she will vanish like all the others

Jodi Meadows introduces a vivid new fantasy full of intrigue, romance, dangerous magic, and one girl’s battle to reclaim her place in the world.

My Review:

Because it took me so long to post this review ANDDDDD BECAUSE JODI’S THE ORPHAN QUEEN comes out TOMORROW, I’m doing something a little bit different than my usual! I’m creating a survey as a review in order to have some fun! So, here goes nothing…

1. What first attracted you to this book?

Well, at the moment I’m obsessed with this princess/queen type of main characters that YA fantasy is coming out with. Pair that with a spy? I’m all yours, especially because I absolutely love the Throne of Glass series, so I figured I would give it a shot!

2. What would you say is your favorite part about this novel?

I guess you can say that my favorite part about this book was that Wil had this insane urge to take care of her people. She would go to such extreme lengths to make sure that her people, and many others, were taken care of. Without giving spoilers, this moral righteousness caused her to create her multiple identities and stand up for herself when it was needed. I won’t say that she was necessarily a saint though. She has her flaws, suspicions, insecurities, and it made me feel connected to her in a way that I feel I can’t connect to many characters. I felt like Jodi really understood what it meant to be human and have compassion for others while still looking out for yourself, which is how Wil is portrayed in this novel.

3. What was your favorite scene?

Oh my goodness, THE BRIDGE SCENE! THE BRIDGE SCENE! Those who have read this book know exactly what I’m talking about! SHIP SHIP SHIP! My heart just melted and I was just dancing around inside my head all happy-go-lucky!

4. What was your least favorite part of this novel?

THE ENDING! Holy goodness, let’s just say that there is a reason there is an “Orphan Queen Support Group” on twitter for those who have finished this novel. If you ever need us, feel free to hashtag #OQSupportGroup! We will be there for you!

5. What did you most like about the main character?

I loved that Wil was leading three different lives throughout this entire novel. She was said to be called many things, and that she was! Jodi stayed true to her character though, and I very much enjoyed the fact that Wil still stayed strong in her moral beliefs and went with her gut. It made her seem more realistic to me because I sometimes feel like I live a very similar life. People see different sides of me all the time. It’s not that I necessarily want to be a different person or that I am different personalities around other people, but it’s that there are parts in all of us that come out a little more when the situation calls for it or we find friends who have similar personalities to match.

6. Who was your favorite character?

Definitely the Black Knife!!! The mystery! The intrigue! The moral righteousness! I absolutely adored him and the way he conversed with Wil as well. Their witty banter, secrets, and acceptance of each other just made this novel that much mroe interesting to read.

7. Who would you recommend this book to?

I would definitely recommend this novel to other YA fantasy lovers, like myself, who are enjoying the princess/queen pattern that has been going around. I would also recommend this novel to readers who like a little bit of mystery, flawed characters, some moral grey areas, and a main character who many times does not think before throwing herself into dangerous situations.

8. What would you rate this book? Why?

Thinking back on it, now that I’m not so taken over by emotions from that ending, I would give The Orphan Queen a 5.0, simply because I can’t find anything that I was honestly annoyed with or that irritated me other than the fact that I just wanted more. I wanted more explanation of everything and I wanted to really get involved a little bit more in Wil’s life. However, I can’t bring a rating down simply for having a word limit! So, this novel stays at 5 stars!

9. Are there any extra comments about this book that you would like to add?

I just want to add that I love this book. It comes out tomorrow, Tuesday, March 10th (the same day as The Infinite by Lori M. Lee), and I honestly suggest that I you call up your local book store and have them put a copy on reserve, or pre-order your own copy now! I think many of you will love it and I look forward to hearing your responses to the plot!! It twists and turns all around your head until your dizzy trying to keep up! Also, I anticipate book two being even better than book one! The ending of The Orphan Queen just sets you up to have your heart ripped out multiple times on a roller coaster ride you know Jodi is about to strap you into, if only for fun of making her cookies from your tears…

Plus, Jodi Meadows is just the sweetest person and I want to support her full-heartedly. I already pre-ordered my own copy and received one of her hand written calligraphic quote cards in the mail! It was such a wonderful gift to find when I got home!

Alright everyone, that wraps up this review! I hope you had fun reading this survey! It made my review just a tad bit more fun to write when I felt like I was interviewing myself rather than writing a critical analysis essay! =)

Enjoy the rest of your week! I should be posting my Top Ten Tuesday tomorrow! Let me know if you end up reading The Orphan Queen, because I’m always more than happy to discuss it and fangirl over Black Knife. And remember, the Orphan Queen Support Group is here for you!

7 thoughts on “Review: The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows

    • I’m glad you’re interested in reading! She’s a wonderful person and a lovely, growing author! I’ve never read her Incarnate series either, but I’m intrigued! I believe the series needs to be added to my Goodreads lists. =)

      Like

  1. I can’t believe there’s a support group…now I’m scared for the ending! I would say I should wait until the next one comes out to read it, but I don’t have that much patience. I already have it on hold at my library, and I can’t wait to read it! I love a fantasy with witty bantering and a healthy dose of swoons, so it’s good to hear that this book has both.

    I just stumbled across your blog a few days ago, so I haven’t read any of your other reviews, but I enjoyed the interview style.

    Like

    • Haha, I definitely believe you will enjoy this book then! You probably SHOULD be scared for the ending, but it’s okay; We’re here for you!!! =) And thank you very much! the interview style was fun to do! I will definitely be using it in the future! I’m so happy to have you reading and replying. ❤

      Like

  2. I feel like you covered EVERYTHING EVER AMAZING ABOUT THIS BOOK! I seriously still can’t stop talking about it. And as sad as I am that I am unable to buy a finished copy right away I will definitely be spreading the love. Because this book just HAS to be read.

    Also, super fun way to review a book! Really creative!

    Like

    • RIGHT?! I tried SO HARD not to leak any spoilers! It was definitely not easy. The book still haunts me. It used to stick with me for about a week or two after I finished it. I’d find my mind drifting towards it and being like, “YOU HAVE TO FINISH READING IT!” only to realize that there was no more left to read. I’d having to kind of shake myself out of it. It’s still not easy to accept!!!

      I love spreading the word about this book. I’m a huge advocate for Jodi and TOQ and I’m glad you are too! And thank you! Review style was fun. =) Made me think and have some fun with my answers this time around.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like how you did your review!!! I really want to read this book now but I’m terrified because if there’s a support group that probably means it will be painful at the end of the book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

