Top Ten Things I Dislike When It Comes To Romances In Books

Top Ten Tuesday!

My Top Ten Things I Dislike When It Comes To Romances In Books…

This Top Tuesday was brought to you by Broke and Bookish! =)

Alright… I needed GIFs for this one, so be prepared!

10. When the love triangle happens and one person always gets hurt because you instantly know that they are in the “friend-zone” for the sake of the love triangle… Come on now people. The least you could do is make the triangle a little original…

9. Insta-Love…

8. Female characters who can’t do anything for themselves without their significant other… Really?… REALLY?!?! Come on girl!!! Grow a pair!!!!

7. Male characters who cry or get overly jealous when their female character isn’t around. These fictional characters are supposed to be the men of our dreams… so WHY are you making them look pathetic? Oh, that’s right… to make some conflict… Uhhhhhh NO!

6. Female characters who cry hysterically for days when the love of their life leaves them… WHYYYYYYYY?!?!?!

5. Boys who, after treating the love of their life like crap, suddenly, in the heat of the most intense scene, must confess their love for the female character…

4. The female character who actually falls for that…

3. The female character who instantly forgives that…

2. When everything turns out okay and makes a happy ending, but the plot had a tendency to “skip” the reasoning for how this couple made it through the obstacles… just so we can… once again… have a happy ending… without making much sense…

1. When love triumphs all the hardships in the plot for reasons that make absolutely no sense… “It needs a happy ending!!!”… NoNo it does not

 

As you can see, I needed GIFs today to express how much all of these romance novel characteristics FRUSTRATE ME BEYOND IMAGINATION. It could not be done with words today! Haha. =)

So what about all of you? What are your top ten likes or dislikes when it comes to book romances?

Happy Tuesday everyone! Seize the day, for when tomorrow comes, you will never be able to redo the memories you make today.

❤ Kelly

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Things I Dislike When It Comes To Romances In Books

  1. FANTASTIC GIFS!!!

    Also, everything you said is completely and totally perfect! I am ok with a happy ending, but if it comes out of the blue with absolutely no explanation except feeling like the author wanted it then NOOOOOO. That just feels completely and totally fake. Real love has issues that need to be solved, and sometimes you can lose a real love. It may be a good story in the end and you’ll look back on it with fond memories, but it can be lost.
    Love triangles are tricky business. Because sometimes it makes sense and it’s not the MC’s fault, but other times you are like WHAT THE HECK ARE YOU DOING JUST STOP IT (this is how I felt with The Hunger Games. I was team Katniss, because why did she really need either of them?). Some authors do a great job with it (Like Sarah J Maas. There were times where I legitimately didn’t know, and since the entire story wasn’t that it just worked.).

    Your list is fabulous! Maybe one of these days I should accomplish a Top Ten Tuesday again. I miss it.

    Like

    • Haha Emily I can always count on you to have a response, and it’s always a good one. =) And I don’t know how I would be able to accomplish this, but I will definitely help you get started on your Top Ten Tuesdays again. I will admit, they’re a lot of fun! =)

      Like

      • Haha thanks! I do love making lists so I LOVE doing them! Hoping I can get the motivation to do it this week!

        And I’m always happy to comment on your blog! You and I seem to share similar tastes and you seem to really know how to convey your feelings! I love it!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Hmmmm… GOOD QUESTION! I think my favorite part of romances in novels is just when it feels real. Like when the characters have so many flaws, and they fight and argue and don’t always get along, but they always love each other anyway and neither one ever throws in the towel. In that one moment where they realize how stupid it is that they even fought and that their relationship is more important than their words, that’s the one that makes me all swoony-eyed. I never knew that type of relationship until very recently and it still gets me, every time. =)

      How about you?! Anything good to swoon over? 😉

      Like

      • I think you hit the nail on the head with that one. Those things make me swoon too. It’s finding that these people are HUMAN (even though they’re fictional), and it makes me love them more. Which in turn makes me love the relationship more. If they don’t “throw in the towel” at the first sign of insecurity or flaw, that’s when I know it’s good. They can fight about it, sure, but they’re ultimately fighting to make it work.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

