Top Ten Young Adult Fantasy/Dystopian Novels I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read Yet!

Welcome to my very first TOP TEN TUESDAY, hosted by Broke and Bookish! Today’s topic: My top ten YA fantasy/dystopian novels I can’t believe I haven’t read yet. So, here goes. Don’t laugh at me too much…

10. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

Okay, this one I actually have an excuse for! I read the first twelve pages, and then got invited to an online book club and had to drop this series to read Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier. The next book in my reading line is the Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard because it’s an ARC coming to me in the next day or two that needs to be reviewed by the time it gets out! THEN I should be able to finish this series. =)

9. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

I honestly have no excuse for this one other than the fact that I’ve been in a reading slump before this year and never even heard of it until I got this job! I’m hoping to read this one soon!

8. The Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

I’ve heard SO MANY AMAZING reviews about this series and I’m so excited to read it… Eventually… when I get to it… hopefully sooner rather than later!

7. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Trust me, I know… I failed… I failed so badly! There’s just not enough hours in the day!!!!

6. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

It’s okay, I’m already hiding my face in shame…

5. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

And now I’m crying in shame…

4. Legend by Marie Lu

I’m just going to die in shame…

3. Matched by Ally Condie

Really, I’m only a little behind…

2. Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Okay… WAY BEHIND!

1. Every single novel ever written by Rick Riordan

You can’t see it right now, but I’m hiding under my desk in shame. SHAME!!!!

So, what do all of you think? What should my first read be?… After I finish Daughter of the Forest, Red Queen, and The Darkest Minds of course! =) Any other opinions of novels that should be on this list, let me know and I’ll add it to my “to-read” list on goodreads as well, which you can find here! I’m happy to talk books and get other opinions! I LOVE finding new novels to gush about! OHHHH THE FEELS ❤

I hope you all have a wonderful Tuesday! Remember, everyday is another chance to start new and to begin the rest of your life. Chin up, shoulders squared, believe in yourself. Your confidence will take you to where you need to be!

Kelly ❤

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Young Adult Fantasy/Dystopian Novels I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read Yet!

  1. I love love love the Legend series! I flew through it. They move so quick and Day…ahhhh I loved him. Other than that and like 1 or 2 others (Delirum, one Rick Riordan series…and kinda Cinder, I am still working on that one) we are in the same boat. A lot of these have been on my radar but I seem to have dome little about. Good luck choosing what’s next! Great list!

    Like

    • Haha, I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one!! =) Right now, I’m working on The Selection series with a couple other people, which you are welcome to join! Then I’m on to the Splintered series! Then, there’s a good possibility I will have The Orphan Queen in my hands before I even get to Splintered, so I’ll DEFINITELY have to fit that one in somewhere! Hopefully I can fit The Darkest Minds in there somewhere this month. The plus side is that I got my hands on my first ever ARC, Red Queen, and will be posting a review of it today. Wahoo!! What a great start to the year. It’s been a wonderful bookish adventure so far! If you ever feel like reading any of these books, let me know and we can buddy read them together!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. AFJD;LAJFD;LSAJ SO MANY THINGS YOU NEED TO READ. Top of the list should be everything Rick Riordan (or at least everything Percy Jackson!) and Shatter Me. I adored that trilogy! 🙂 It was so easy to fall into that series and love it for life. I hope you get a chance to read those (and the rest on your list) soon. 🙂

    Like

    • I KNOW!!! I’M ASHAMED!!! Haha, but I’m trying! so far this year it’s just been one reading deadline after another, but I’m really enjoying it! So many people have told me that they lose their spark for reading when they get tight deadlines and have to follow a schedule, whereas I seem to be thriving on it. The only problem is that I MAYYYYY be booked through at least the end of February… possibly March as well. I’m looking at 8 books by the end of February…? I believe… I’m probably insane, but I don’t really care! Muhahahah! I really do need to read some Rick Riordan though! He’s been on my lists for so long and I’ve just never picked up one of his books unfortunately. =( He is top of my list once I get some free time and AFTER I finish The Darkest Minds, which I started, and then had to put aside for some deadlines. =(

      Like

      • LOL. So much to read! Good luck! And read him soon!!!!

        I’m one of those people who cannot work with a deadline. It’s stressful and decreases my enjoyment of the books. OR SOMETHING. IDEK. I just don’t do it anymore.

        Like

  3. CINDER! That series is so amazing, I love it!! I still need to read These Broken Stars too, I even have the sequel. They’re supposed to be great! And yeah I think I’ve only read the first Percy Jackson book. I thought it was okay but I hear the series gets better 🙂

    Like

    • I know!!! It’s been on my radar for a while now and I keep hearing great comments about it! I’m trying so hard to get to all of them! Hahaha =) Maybe we can buddy read These Broken Stars and the sequel together. It’s in my classroom library and the cover is just so beautiful…

      Like

Leave a Reply

